Student Forgot Password

The TAP Series Blog

Stay up to date with the latest new in food safety.

Tuesday - Bare Essentials - Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training, effective October 1, 2019

Connecticut is another state where the law is changing. Prior to June of 2019, a company had to have 50 employees before sexual harassment training was mandatory, beginning October 2019 that will change. In about a week companies with 3 or more employees will have to provide every employee with two hours of training and new hires will need to be trained within 6 months of hire. Employers with 1 or 2 employees still need to train at least one supervisor so the gap is only 1 or 2 people between every employee needing to be trained or not trained. Those in this narrow gap would be better served to just train everyone. The bounced back effect of this training is going to be a greater awareness of employee’s legal rights as they pertain to sexual harassment. For this small extra effort “gap” companies will gain an extra level of legal coverage if a suit should be filed against them.

Unlike other states Connecticut has elected to train all employees to a level held only for Supervisors in other states but, unlike the others where re-training needs to be done every year or two, Connecticut only requires update training every 10 years. Unlike many other states, where there will be no regulatory oversight, Connecticut will be leveling fines for those that do not comply. The time of workplace sexual harassment is coming to a justly deserved end. All companies need to take these laws seriously.

Quick note: This is not to be taken as legal or HR advice. Since employment laws change over time and can vary by location and industry, consult a lawyer or HR expert for specific guidance.

food-safety